UTAH N.P.O.S.T. SCORES
PHYSICAL AGILITY TEST
ORAL BOARD INTERVIEW
MEDICAL EXAM AND DRUG SCREEN
VOICE STRESS ANALYSIS
Narcotics Task Force
Forensic Investigations Unit
* The base pay above does not Include holiday pay, longevity pay, education level, uniform allowance, shift differential and overtime. Cops can potentially earn more than the figure above suggest.
The percentile wage estimate below is the value of a wage below which certain percent of workers fall. Data collected from U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2018)
Certification to become a peace officer in Utah can be obtained only after complete basic training course at either the state’s training academy in Sandy, Utah, a suburb of Salt Lake City, or at one of five satellite academies. The state offers two choices in getting this basic training.
In the first, prospective police officers can find a job prior to training and have the jurisdiction in which he or she has been hired enroll the new officer in the Sandy, Utah, academy.
The second is for individuals who wish to be certified but who have not been hired by an agency. These individuals will have to enroll in one of the satellite academies and pay for the training themselves, then find a job. A list of Utah police agencies can be found at here.
Which ever method is selected, prospective officers will have to meet certain minimum requirements for hiring set by the Utah Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST), which establishes standards and training requirements and which is the agency that certifies all officers (http://publicsafety.utah.gov/post/index.html). The site provides prospective officers with a full list of minimum qualifications, factors that will disqualify a candidate, and links to the satellite academies that offer training in addition to the state academy in Sandy.
Here are some of the minimum qualifications that have to be met in Utah in order to become a police officer.
The prospective officer must be a U.S. citizen at least 21 years old at the time of appointment, a high school graduate or have an equivalency certificate and free of any physical, emotional or mental conditions that could adversely affect performance of peace officer duties.
A number of factors will prevent a candidate from becoming a police officer in the state. A less than honorable discharge from the U.S. armed forces disqualifies a candidate, as does any felony conviction that could have resulted in imprisonment in a federal or state penitentiary.
Convictions of misdemeanor crimes are not automatic disqualifiers but require a waiting period from the date of conviction, depending on the type of crime involved, before a candidate can be accepted.
For example, misdemeanor crimes concerning drugs or controlled substance have a two- to five-year waiting period, depending on the type of drug or controlled substances involved.
Misdemeanor crimes of dishonesty, unlawful sexual conduct or physical violence have a four-year waiting period. A DUI offense has a two-year waiting period and minor crimes may require a one-year wait.
Candidates will be fingerprinted and a search made through local, state and federal data bases for any criminal history.
After being hired by a police jurisdiction, the candidate officer will be sent to training at the Sandy, UT academy, where he or she will be put through 15 weeks of training that will include, but is not limited to, training in firearms and emergency vehicle operations, canine training, defensive tactics and physical fitness. Students at satellite academies will be put through training that mirrors that of the state academy.
There are several law enforcement job openings in Utah. Simply visit our Career Job Opening or go to the official website of the agency you are interested in to complete an application of employment.
Each situation will need individual evaluation.
Significant loss of color vision (greater than one cross on the Farnsworth D-15 panel test) is unacceptable for safety positions.
Colored soft contact lenses may not be worn, as they produce field loss range.
Significant deficiency in peripheral vision in either eye is unacceptable. Field of vision must extend across an arc (at the horizontal meridian) of at least 140 degrees in both eyes and at least 70 degrees in each eye tested separately.
All applicants interested in a Trooper position are required to take a written exam called the P.O.S.T. Entrance Level Test. You should take the P.O.S.T. test as soon as possible to get your score recorded into the test database.
Once hired and after the initial training listed above, a trooper will be required to attend regular In-Service training.
Troopers can apply for the Sergeant promotional examination after they have completed 5 years of work experience as a peace officer with the last 3 years preceding application for this position being in a sworn capacity with the Department of Public Safety.
Sergeants can apply for the Lieutenant promotional examination after they have completed 5 years of work experience as a peace officer of which 2 years preceding application for this position must have been in a position classified as Sergeant or an equivalent sworn position with the Department of Public Safety.
All positions above the Lieutenant rank, are exempt positions and are appointed by the Utah Highway Patrol Superintendent.
New Troopers are required to comply with the Utah Highway Patrol residency policy. The purpose of this policy is to ensure that personnel reside in locations that will permit reasonable response time, limit excessive travel, and encourage personnel to become integral members of the community.
Each section commander establishes a written residency policy for personnel within their respective commands. Personnel being hired, promoted, or transferred must comply with current residency requirements within 180 calendar days.
The Utah Highway Patrol is paid biweekly. Salary increases are reviewed and must be funded by the Legislature each year. Increases are based on performance ratings.
New, entry level Troopers, are rated on their performance semi-annually while on probation, there is a possibility of a 2.75% increase after six months. On successful completion of an 18 month probationary period, there is a possibility of up to a 5«% salary increase.
This position is covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act. The State of Utah is subject to the overtime provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act. It is a condition of employment with the Department of Public Safety that overtime be compensated with compensatory time at time and one half, or paid overtime at time and one half as determined by the Department of Public Safety.
Troopers receive $520.00 per year for uniform replacement and maintenance.
May vary depending on work location, generally 40 hrs. per week.
Is earned as follows:
0 through 5 years 4 hours per pay period
6 through 10 years 5 hours per pay period
After 11 years 6 hours per pay period
The maximum vacation time that can be accumulated is 320 hours.
Sick leave is earned at the rate of 4 hours a pay period with no maximum on what is accumulated.
Holiday pay – The Utah Highway Patrol has 11 paid holidays.
An employee on official military orders, without loss of pay or loss of vacation leave, is entitled to military leave that should not exceed 15 regular scheduled working days per year. Employees who are on paid military leave shall continue to accrue annual and sick leave at their regular rate.
Troopers are covered by a fully funded, non-contributory retirement plan. The State of Utah pays the entire contribution. Retirement may be taken after twenty years of service at 50 percent of a specified average salary. The maximum is 70 percent after 30 years.
There are 4 Health Insurance plans available. The State pays 90 to 100 percent of the premium cost for employees.
There are 4 Dental Insurance plans available. The State pays 80 to 100 percent of the premium cost for employees.
A basic life insurance policy of $18,000 is provided by the State to all eligible employees at no cost to the employee. Optional amounts up to $200,000 are available to the employee at employee expense.
A Long Term Disability (LTD) plan is provided to all eligible employees without cost to the employee. If eligible for this benefit, an employee receives a benefit of two-thirds of gross pay. These benefits may be coordinated with other benefits such as Worker’s Compensation, Social Security, etc.
Workers Compensation – Employees and volunteers of the state are covered against injuries or illness as a direct result of job performance.
Unemployment Compensation – Employees of State Government are covered by the laws on unemployment benefits. If state employees are terminated as a result of elimination of programs, budgetary problems, etc., in most cases they will be eligible for unemployment benefits.
Social Security – State employees contribute to the Social Security program and are eligible for all benefits provided through it. Old Age benefits will be paid in full in addition to benefits received from the state retirement system.